

February 9, 2018

Via Email: EnergyAdvisoryBoard@dol.gov and U.S. Mail

Julia Hearthway
Director, Office of Workers Compensation Programs
U.S. Department of Labor
Frances Perkins Building
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington D.C. 20210

Re: Reseating of the Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health ("ABTSWH")

## Dear Director Hearthway:

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comment for the nomination and appointment process for the Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health ("ABTSWH" or "Board").

Cold War Patriots supports the former nuclear energy workers and their families and friends with matters related to the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act and its benefits. In these efforts, Cold War Patriots has been a supporter of the creation of the ABTSWH as advisors to the Department of Labor's Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation program ("DEEOIC").

The Board members' term expires on February 16, 2018. Cold War Patriots supports the reinstatement of the current members of the ABTSWH. This Board has provided DEEOIC with valuable advice and guidance to ensure that claims under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act are decided in an equitable manner and based on current medical and scientific knowledge. This Board has gained tremendous knowledge on DEEOIC's work over the past two years, and for continuity of service to this community, Cold War Patriots respectfully urges you to reappoint as soon as possible the current ABTSWH Board Members who wish to continue to serve.

In addition, we urge you to broadly communicate the Board appointment process as we approach the deadline in order for impacted stakeholders to be apprised of changes under consideration, and for them to share comments.

Sincerely,

Tim Lerew