U.S. flag in front of captiol building

Industry News | CWP

DOL appoints members to the third-term Advisory Board

August 17, 2020

August 17, 2020

Created with Sketch. CWP

Industry News

The Department of Labor posted the names of the individuals who will serve on the third-term of the Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health.  Their term will expire in 2022.

The members are:

Scientific Community:

Aaron Bowman, Ph.D., Purdue University*
Mark Catlin, MDC Consulting & Training*
Kenneth Z. Silver, D.Sc., CIH, East Tennessee State University
Mike Van Dyke, Ph.D, CIH, University of Colorado*

Medical Community:
George Friedman-Jimenez, MD, Dr.Ph, Bellevue Hospital Center, NYU School of Medicine
Rose H. Goldman, MD, MPH, Harvard Medical School
CHAIR: Steven Markowitz, MD. Dr.Ph, Queens College, CUNY School of Public Health
Marek Mikulski, MD, MPH, Ph.D, University of Iowa

Claimant community:
*Jim H. Key, USW Atomic Energy Council
Duronda M. Pope, United Steelworkers
Calin Tebay, Hanford Beryllium Program
*Dianne Whitten, Employee Health Advocate, Hanford Atomic Metal Trades Council

*New members

Dr. Bowman is Professor and Head of the School of Health Sciences and member of the Purdue Institute for Integrative Neuroscience.  His research includes the interactions of exposure to metals and the development of neurological diseases such as Parkinson’s Disease, Alzheimer Disease, and Huntington’s Disease.

Mark Catlin is an Industrial Hygienist formerly association with the Service Employees International Union (SEIU).  He has worked on occupational and environmental health issues since 1981.

Dr. Van Dyke is an Associate Professor at the Colorado School of Public Health and an Industrial Hygienist.  His research includes beryllium exposure and exposure assessment.

Two new members, Jim H. Key and Dianne Whitten, were appointed to represent the claimant community.  Both are active in workplace protection for their respective unions.