U.S Capitol Building


EEOICPA Changes That Make It Easier to Qualify for Beryllium Sensitivity

February 14, 2024

February 14, 2024

Created with Sketch. CWP

The U.S. Congress, in a bipartisan vote, recently amended the Energy Employee Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA) to make it easier for nuclear weapons and uranium workers to qualify for beryllium sensitivity. The legislation, named the Beryllium Testing Fairness Act, has just been implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). You can read more about the DOL update here.

Many of you were exposed to beryllium dust particles or fumes during your work at nuclear weapons complexes. This change could impact you if you were previously denied when applying for coverage for the U.S. DOL medical benefits white card, or if you did not apply for it because you didn’t think you would qualify.

It’s very important that you understand what this change means for you. This may now allow you to apply for benefits related to beryllium sensitivity, or to appeal a previously denied claim for benefits related to beryllium exposure.

Here is a high-level summary of the change. Previously, you were required to demonstrate beryllium sensitivity by one of two methods:

  • A positive result on a beryllium lymphocyte proliferation test (BeLPT) or a beryllium lymphocyte transformation test (BeLTT) on blood or lung lavage cells, or
  • A positive beryllium patch test.

Under this new legislation, you can now qualify for beryllium sensitivity if you have:

  • Three (3) borderline BeLPT or BeLTT performed on blood over a three-year period.

If you are approved for beryllium sensitivity, you may qualify for health benefits that include FREE medical monitoring (which includes all tests for chronic beryllium disease), treatment, and therapy. In addition, you are eligible to apply for monetary compensation for impairment, wage loss, or both.

Please call the Cold War Patriots Outreach Help Center to learn more about this important change at (866) 894-2451 Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. mountain time.